In the years 1968–1981 and 1988, a Turaŭ team of the archaeological expedition from the Institute of History of the Academy of Sciences of the BSSR headed by Piotr Lysienka (head of the team) and Tacciana Karobuškina (senior researcher) conducted archaeological excavations in the place of the the ancient city of Biarescie. In different periods, a large group of members of the Department of Archaelogy of the Institute of History of the Academy of Sciences of the BSSR participated in the work of the team.
The organisation and financing of the work were actively supported by the Brest regional local history museum, and in 1981, a group of its employees participated in the provision of the archaeological excavations.
The excavations in 1968 were of an exploratory nature. The materials of the exploration pits uncovered the location of the inner city of Biarescie and determined the territory of the excavations. Regular annual explorations of the inner city began in 1969, and they lasted until 1981. In 1988, pitting was again carried out in order to localise the defensive wall of the settlement.
On September 29, 1970, by the decree of the Council of Ministers of the BSSR, Biarescie as an archaeological monument was taken under state protection.
Over the entire period of the excavations, a part of a handicraft quarter of Biarescie with a total area of 1180 m² was investigated. Three street pavements and more than 200 residential and household buildings were found, as well as around 42 thousand units of materials from different categories, 150 of which are unique finds.